Spain, France & Italy || Week Seven

Sunday, August 21st 
No adventures today, we packed up and left Cadaques after 3 weeks of vacation. I’m looking forward to coming back to this fairytale town one more weekend before heading off to the Camino!



Monday, August 22nd
Adventure of the day: morning date with Albert shopping for Legos, afternoon art project with Marta (magazine clip + drawing pictured) and spent the evening wondered around Barcelona, looking for nothing and admiring everything.

P.S. As you can see in the photo, I’m missing my Passion family ❤️



Tuesday, August 23rd
Adventure of the day: heading to the French mountains for a few days!



Wednesday, August 24th
Adventure of the day: hiking through the woods, picnic by the lake & zip lining with the most BEAUTIFUL scenory all day!



Thursday, August 25th
Adventure of the day: mountain top views, tubing, trampoline, paddle boating & icees ✌🏼️ thanks France, it’s been fun!



Friday, August 26th
Yesterday, I had lunch in France, dinner in Spain and now breakfast in Italy! EXTRA special thanks to Anna for driving me to the airport at 5AM and letting me have an extended weekend to explore ❤️

Adventure of the day: flying to Rome, getting lost, eating pizza, finding myself, spending 4 hours imagining life through the eyes of those in the Colosseum, Roman Forum & Palatine Hill and ending the day by having an AMAZING brochetta and risotto dinner with the Italian waiters singing the whole time.

Colosseum
Inside the Colosseum

Roman Forum & Imperial Palace

 

STORY TIME! Above is part of the Imperial Palace which is in the Roman Forum – one of the most ancient parts of the city.  I got a free ticket so I started wondering around an ‘old building’ and was kind of unimpressed. I ended up sitting on a terrace to write in my journal (which ended up being one of the top arch ways.)
I decided to leave so I walked down a set of stairs only to realize that I hadn’t even entered the main part of the museum! Turns out, I was sitting in the middle of an amazing palace and didn’t know it until I stepped away and got a new perspective.

God was nudging me… “hello?!” We are all a part of a much larger story – sometimes we get a glimpse of the big picture but admiring the finished project is for Heaven. And that’s okay! More than ever, I want my aim to be Kingdom-minded and to love & serve with a grateful heart in the MOMENT. Stepping out of my life the past 7 weeks has planted, watered and grown such a strong appreciation for my family, friends, church and the opportunity to love like Christ loved.

Saturday, August 27th
Adventure of the day: Started with a guided tour of the Vatican City Museums, Sistine Chapel & St Peters Basilica, then admired the massiveness of the Pathelon, made a wish at Trevi Fountain, walked Spanish Steps (a few times) and finished the night with an Opera at the St Mary Basilica! Have I mentioned how great the food is? You definitely can’t diet and get a taste of authentic Italy!

My LOVE for art, history and music is so satisfied in this wonderful city. #thankyouJesus!

St Peter’s Basilica
one of the MANY impressive ceilings
Pathelon
Trevi Fountain

As always, thank you for joining me on this journey!!
XOXO,
Abby



Leave a comment